Go to top of page

Our Commissioners


On advice from the Federal Executive Council and under the Commonwealth Grants Commission Act 1973, the Governor-General of the Commonwealth of Australia has appointed three part time Commissioners.



Mr Michael Callaghan AM PSM

Mr Callaghan has a long career in public policy, including 38 years in the Australian Treasury. From 2008 to 2012 he was Deputy Secretary, Macroeconomic Group, Australia’s G20 Finance Deputy and the Prime Minister’s Special Envoy, International Economy. From 2005-2007, he was Deputy Secretary, Revenue Group.

Mr Callaghan spent four years on the IMF Executive Board in Washington DC and served as Chief of Staff to the Australian Treasurer, the Hon Peter Costello.

He has chaired a number of reviews for the Australian Government and international organisations. In 2020, Mr Callaghan chaired the Retirement Income Review.  In 2017, he chaired the review of the Petroleum Resource Rent Tax and the review of the Economic Impact of the Government’s Regulation Agenda. He also chaired the Northern Australia Insurance Premiums Taskforce. Mr Callaghan chaired the 12th and 13th replenishment of the Asian Development Bank’s Asian Development Fund.

From 2018 to 2020 he was Chair of the Aged Care Financing Authority. From 2013 to 2014, he was Director of the G20 Studies Centre at the Lowy Institute, and is now a non-resident Fellow at the Lowy Institute. He served on the Board of the Australian Reinsurance Pool Corporation from 2017 to 2019.

Mr Callaghan is a Member of the Order of Australia and has been awarded the Public Service Medal and Centenary Medal. He has economics and law degrees from the Australian National University, and is a graduate of the Royal College of Defence Studies in London and the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Current Term: 25th June 2020 to 24th June 2025



Emeritus Professor Jeffrey Petchey

Emeritus Professor Petchey was appointed to the Commission in 2011 and was reappointed from September 2016 for a further term of five years. Until November 2017, he was an academic and policy economist in the Department of Economics at Curtin Business School and specializes in research on horizontal fiscal equalisation, fiscal federalism, inter-governmental relations, tax competition, environmental economics and public goods.

Emeritus Professor Petchey has published in international and domestic academic journals and has contributed to government reports and enquiries. He has also had  significant experience in industry engagement. He has coordinated AusAid and World Bank projects to develop an infrastructure equalisation model for South Africa and recently undertaken advisory work for the OECD on Australia’s fiscal constitution.

From 2007 to 2012 Emeritus Professor Petchey was the Head of the School of Economics and Finance at the Curtin Business School.

Current Term: 1st September 2016 to 31st August 2021


Dr Lynne Williams

Dr Williams worked as an economist in the public sector for over 30 years, and currently sits on several boards related to public policy and undertakes small consultancies. Dr Williams is Deputy Chair of the Essential Services Commission of South Australia, a Commissioner on the Victorian Building Authority (VBA) and a member of the Victorian Legal Services Board (VLSB). She also chairs the Audit Committees for both the VBA and VLSCB.

She was made a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for contributions to economic and public policy in January 2017.

Dr Williams previously held senior executive positions in both the Victorian and Federal public services, including the Victorian Treasury and Finance, Premier and Cabinet and Industry departments, and the Federal Productivity Commission and Bureau of Immigration, Multicultural and Population Research.

Dr Williams has degrees in economics from the University of Melbourne, the London School of Economics and Monash University. She is a Fellow of the Institute of Public Administration Australia (IPAA) and of St Hilda’s College (University of Melbourne), a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors, and Secretary of Athletics International (Australia).

Current Term: 1st September 2016 to 31st August 2021


The Hon Dr Peter Hendy 

Dr Hendy is a professional economist and is a company director. He was Chief Executive of the Australian Chamber of Commerce and Industry between 2002 and 2008, and has had a long career in both the private and public sectors, including the areas of defence, international trade, treasury, education and industrial relations. In 2003 he was awarded a Centenary Medal by the Governor-General for services to Australian society in business leadership. He has worked internationally in the Middle East as Executive Director of the Bahrain Economic Development Board. He has been Chief Economist in the Prime Minister’s Office and prior to that he was a Member of Parliament with roles as the Assistant Minister for Finance, Assistant Minister for Productivity and Assistant Cabinet Secretary in the Australian Government. 

Dr Hendy is a member of the Australian Institute of Company Directors and also a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Management. He has a first class honours degree in Economics and a PhD in Government.

Current Term: 24th August 2017 to 23rd August 2022




Commission inquiries may be carried out by divisions of the Commission. Under the Commonwealth Grants Commission Act 1973, the Chairperson may determine which Commissioners will form the divisions of the Commission. A division must consist of the Chairperson and no fewer than two other Commissioners.